12 Days until Kumpir

Kumpir is probably one of the first things I plan on eating once I arrive in Turkey. It is one of my favorite Turkish fast foods and also goes great with ayran (I’ll come to this drink later). In Turkey it’s easy to come across places which sell Kumpir, but it is also easy to make at home.

Kumpir is basically a baked potato with various fillings. The potato is baked, sliced through the middle and mixed with butter and kaşar (Turkish yellow cheese). Then it can be filled with almost anything you like. Popular fillings include pickles, olives, sweetcorn, mushrooms, cooked peas and carrots, various vegetables and salads, russian salad or meats like sausages. I also like to mix it with ketchup and mayonnaise.

When I eat kumpir I’m often reminded of my time in middle school. I used to go to a school in the center of the city and I often went out for lunch with my friends. Kumpir is relatively cheap and fast to get so it was one of my favorite lunches back then and it still is one of my favorite foods. Considering that Kumpir is mainly made from vegetables one might even consider it healthy 😀

“Countdown.”

4 thoughts on “12 Days until Kumpir

Leave a Reply

