3 Days until Kısır

kisir-tarifi-13 Days! Less than 72 hours are left until I’m finally home! So it’s time to write about what has probably become my favorite dish over the past few years. I don’t usually have favorites when it comes to food because I pretty much like anything, but if I had to choose one it would probably be kısır. Kısır is a typical Turkish dish made from bulgur. It is often considered a salad or meze (side dish).

I always liked kısır, but once I started high school it really became part of my everyday life. On most days I could get kısır from the school’s salad bar at lunch, which is most certainly another reason why I really like it. Lunch was probably the best part of my school time, just eating and having fun with my friends. So I guess kısır is not just really delicious, but to me it’s also a reminder of my days in high school and my friends.

Kısır is quite easy to make and doesn’t require too much effort. It’s made from bulgur, tomato paste and often includes ingredients such as onions, tomatoes, lettuce and cumbers. It also includes some spices and lemon juice and I personally think it tastes even better with lots of Nar ekşisi which is pretty much pomegranate syrup. Click here for a recipe; however this recipe doesn’t include chopped tomatoes, cucumber and lettuce which you might want to include in your kısır.
“Countdown.”

2 thoughts on “3 Days until Kısır

Leave a Reply

