2 Days until the Return of the Epic Blanket Fort

Blanket forts… I don’t exactly know why the combination of blankets and pillows is so fascinating, but for some reason building and hanging out in blanket forts has always been one of my favorite hobbies. The great thing about them is that they have the ability to transport you anywhere you want. When I was small I used to build blanket forts quite often and as long as I didn’t open the entrance to see my room I could pretend that I was anywhere, whether it was the middle of the forest or a distant planet. I was just travelling in a in my fantasy world surrounded by my fluffy home.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve last build a blanked fort; I guess that’s because I’m a university student now and have to start acting ‘grownup’ and all that, but when I skyped with my friend back home we said that we would resurrect our epic blanket forth this holiday. We had spent some great times surrounded by pillows and blankets. Sometimes we played games or watched movies and sometimes we just ate a bunch of chocolate. No matter what we did, it was somehow always a bit more fun surrounded by walls of blankets.

So I guess being in a blanket fort reminds me a lot of my childhood and of the time when everything seemed easy and fun. Blanket forts also make me feel safe and cozy and that’s a feeling I’ve really missed since I’m so far away from home. I love blanket forts and here’s a scene from the TV show community that reminded me of how much potential is really hidden in a few blankets and pillows.

 

“Countdown.”

3 thoughts on “2 Days until the Return of the Epic Blanket Fort

Leave a Reply

