1 Day until Ayran

In less than 24 hours I’ll finally be home and hopefully drinking lots and lots of ayran. Ayran is a typical Turkish which looks a lot like milk, but tastes quite different. It is basically made from yogurt, water and salt. The yogurt and water is mixed together until the drink is liquid enough and the salt is added to adjust the taste. It might not sound like the greatest drink if you’re not used to it, but I think that it’s delicious and everyone should give it a try.

Throughout the last weeks before I came to the UK I used to drink ayran every day. Each day I got a huge bottle of ayran, sometimes one liter, sometimes two and I just drank all of it. I wasn’t usually so obsessed with ayran even though I always loved it. In my last couple of weeks in Turkey I realized that I wouldn’t be able to drink ayran when I was overseas, sure I tried making ayran with the yogurt I bought here, but it just doesn’t taste the same as Turksh ayran. So once I’m finally home I can get back to drinking all the ayran I want!

“Countdown.”

3 thoughts on “1 Day until Ayran

Leave a Reply

